Knowledge is power. One important thing I’ve learned during my journey down the cancer road is that I am my advocate for my health.  I am the one responsible for asking the questions and doing my homework.  There is no such thing as too much information and knowledge when it comes to cancer.

The medical field is constantly making changes to guidelines, procedures, recommended medications and more. Our doctors should be up to date on this information, but many of them are not.  Find the ones that are current on what is going on in the medical field.  As a patient and cancer survivor, it is also my responsibility to make sure that I learn all that I can about my medical condition.

As a thyroid cancer patient, I read things like the Revised American Thyroid Association Management Guidelines for Patients with Thyroid Nodules and Differentiated Thyroid Cancer and tried to stay awake while doing it.  There is a lot of good information in there.  I suggest you skim over it if you have been touched by thyroid cancer.

This is just one example.  There is a world-wide web of information out there.  Be sure to do your research on reputable sites.  Unfortunately there is a lot of bad information and fear-based opinions out there as well.  I found that when I stay on professional sites, I get the beneficial information that give me the knowledge that I need.

