“We can only be said to be alive in those moments when our hearts are conscious of our treasures.” ~Thornton Wilder

   

Yesterday was my Mom’s birthday. Our family got together for lunch and spent a couple of hours together.  There was a moment when I stopped and looked around the table and felt so much gratitude in my heart for each one of them.  They mean the world to me.  I’m grateful to have them in my life, as my family.  I used to take that for granted.  Being a cancer survivor, reminded me once again of how precious life is and how fast things can chance without warning.  Everything seems to shine a little brighter now.  

“There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle.  
 The other is as though everything is a miracle.” — Albert Einstein

   

I’m grateful for it all now.  Every little thing counts.  I have energy to go out and enjoy life.  I’m able to be present and not caught in my mind with worry about test results and doctors appointments.  I can eat whatever I want without limitations from having to be on a low-iodine diet.  I am able to taste my food again without a mild metallic aftertaste caused by my cancer treatment.  I sleep soundly and feel refreshed in the morning. I have health insurance that covered most of my medical bills.  The list goes on and on.   

“Whatever our individual troubles and challenges may be, it’s important to pause every now and then to appreciate all that we have, on every level. We need to literally “count our blessings,” give thanks for them, allow ourselves to enjoy them, and relish the experience of prosperity we already have.” ~Shakti Gawain

   

You certainly don’t have to be a cancer survivor to have an attitude of gratitude.  Everyone has at least a few things to be grateful for.  Taking time to take a look at those things is a gift in itself.  Many people are too busy rushing through their daily routinues to slow down long enough to be grateful.   When was the last time you thought about what you’re grateful for?  Now is a good time to do it!  I encourage you to leave a comment about what you are grateful for.

