Some may call it six degrees of separation, the butterfly effect or good timing, but I call it a small world.   Here’s the cool little story.  About a year ago, I started “tweeting” on the international social networking site called Twitter.  At the time I had just been diagnosed with having papillary thyroid cancer and was tweeting all about it.  That’s where I “virtually” met Chris Prestano.  She had also been recently diagnosed with thyroid cancer.  So we had a common bond.  (Now keep in mind that Twitter has millions of people on the site from all over the world.  What are the odds of Chris and I connecting?)

Chris and I eventually became friends on Facebook as well.  We needed a place that gave us more than 140 characters at a time to message back and forth!  We emailed and IM’d over the course of several months, keeping each other updated on our progress and treatments. 

I soon discovered that Chris was living in NYC and traveling to Johns Hopkins Hospital for her doctor’s appointments, treatments and all the other fun things we get to do when being treated for thyroid cancer.  Well that might not seem like such a big deal to you, but it was to me.  Why? Because I was also was going to Johns Hopkins Hospital for my treatment during that time!  Well that’s just the beginning, so read on…

Chris told me about an organization called ThyCa and how they had monthly thyroid cancer support meetings in Baltimore, MD.  This sounded great to me and it close enough for me to drive there.  I really wanted to connect with other people face to face who had experience to share about thyroid cancer.  I decided to go to my first ThyCa meeting in November.  Chris was going to be in town that same week, so we decided to meet at the meeting.  It was nice to finally meet her in person.  We went to lunch after the meeting and spent a couple hours sharing “our stories” and our ups and downs.  What strong women we are!  During lunch, we were talking about cancer fundraisers and how thyroid cancer is in the shadows of it all.  I mean how often do you see people walking around with a ribbon for thyroid cancer? Exactly!  We wanted to do something.  Chris mentioned the American Cancer Society’s Relay for Life and it sounded really interesting to me.  So that is when the seed was planted for what has now turned into our “Wings of Hope” team.

I was contacted by the wonderful Katie Schwartz, Founder of the amazing site Dear Thyroid to write a post on my blog in December for their upcoming “Thyoliday Blues and Truths” series. When Katie asked me to pick a date for Dear Thyroid to post it on their site, I went with December 1.  

It seemed like all of these “thybulous” things started to snowball.  Chris got more info about Relay for Life and registered our team. Angel (another thyroid cancer survivor and ThyCa meeting attendee) joined our team and we were super excited!  It was actually coming together.  And it just so happens that Dear Thyroid had been in contact with Chris and offered to provide us with shirts for Relay for Life!  

So December 1 came around and my blog post was on the first page of the Dear Thyroid site!  What a proud moment that was for me. (Here’s where it all comes back together again.)  I scrolled down and the very next post was one titled, “Chris Prestano, Thyroid Cancer Survivor & Fighter Is Racing For A Cure” written about Chris and our Wings of Hope Relay for Life team!!! What? Are you kidding me?  I just happened to pick December 1 for Dear Thyroid to put my blog post on their site and it was the same day that they posted the one Chris wrote about our team.  Oh come on!!!

So that’s the cool little story about how Chris and I were brought together by thyroid cancer and joined forces to kick cancer’s ass.  It’s a small world!

