Almost a year ago, I was told that I had papillary thyroid cancer.  I will never forget that day.  A few months later I had my thyroid removed.  A couple months after that I had to prepare for RAI treatment by going on LID for 18 days.  After a couple months I went back and had bloodwork which brought back good news and the cancer was gone!  So now it’s a few weeks later and I realize that I’m just beginning to process the experience.  It’s too much to wrap my head around at once.  Today for no reason the thought popped into my mind, “I had cancer!”  It brought up a lot of fear and then I felt my heart start to beat a little faster.  I took a deep breath in…1-2-3-4-5…and out…1-2-3-4-5.  Then I thought, “I’m a cancer survivor!” I felt a calmness wash over me.  All is well in my world.  Grateful to be alive, healthy and a survivor today. 

l_4453b20bfc2a4ffbacca98654507b61b

