According to my doctors, since I had thyroid cancer the best option was to have a thyroidectomy.  I do admit, it was not a pleasant thought to imagine a surgeon cutting my throat open and removing MY thyroid.  I could think of plenty of other things I’d like to spend time doing.  After all, it was my one and only thyroid.  It had been working for me for over 35 years.  But the cancer cells decided to make my thyroid their home.  And it was time for all of it to go!  

So on January 29, 2009 at an extremely early hour, I got up and said goodbye to my thyroid.  I was a little nervous for the surgery but had an underlying calmness.  I knew that it was going to be alright.  Everything works out the way it is supposed to.

I got to the hospital and checked in.  My wonderful Mom came with me and the rest of my family were calling in periodically to see how I was doing.  After filling out lots of paperwork and signing many forms, they gave me the beautiful surgery outfit to put on.  I was stylin’!

IMG00004

IMG00010 00000

I was ready to go.  Time to say my final goodbye to my thyroid and hello to the thyroidectomy.

